about me

"What lies ahead

and what lies behind us

are trifles

to what lies within us."

Henry David Thoreau

 
 

My name is Kathrin Wersing, I was born in 1979, I am married to a wonderful man and together we have two great children.
I work as a social worker for a self-help association, where I accompany families with chronically ill children. 

The diagnosis of Parkinson's hit me pretty hard at the age of 40. After the initial shock and discussions in a support group for people with young PD onset, it quickly became clear to me that we all need positive stories. I am convinced that positive thinking, humor and confidence contribute enormously as a positive impact the course of the disease.

That's why I decided to take my podcast on a journey to people who live a happy and fulfilled life with Parkinson's disease. I would like to share this wealth of experience with everyone. I am happy if you accompany me on this journey or even enrich the podcast with your story.

For me, the main things that help me deal with the disease are laughter, spending time with family and friends, lots of sport and exercise, music, but also the exchange with other PD patients.

In the end, everything will be good. 
And if it's not good yet, 
then it's not the end!" 

Oscar Wilde

Current: TV report from 28.08.2021

I was allowed to shoot a TV report with Eckart von Hirschhausen for his program "Hirschhausens Quiz des Menschen". It was about my family and me, about my podcast and my PingPongParkinson group in Münster. A great opportunity to bring the topic of Parkinson's, especially for us young sufferers, further into the public.

Link to the TV report about me

Link to the TV report about Parkinson's

contact

I am happy to hear from you!

Über mich

„Was vor uns liegt und was hinter uns liegt sind Kleinigkeiten zu dem, was in uns liegt.”
Henry David Thoreau

Mein Name ist Kathrin Wersing, ich bin Jahrgang 1979, verheiratet mit einem wunderbaren Mann und gemeinsam haben wir zwei tolle Kinder.
Ich arbeite als Sozialarbeiterin bei einem Selbsthilfeverband, wo ich Familien mit chronisch kranken Kindern begleite. 

Die Diagnose Parkinson hat mich mit 40 Jahren ziemlich kalt erwischt. Nach dem ersten Schock und den Gesprächen in einer Selbsthilfegruppe für früh an Parkinson Erkrankte war mir schnell klar, dass wir alle positive Geschichten brauchen.  Denn ich bin davon überzeugt, dass positives Denken, Humor und Zuversicht  enorm dazu beitragen, den Krankheitsverlauf positiv zu beeinflussen.

Daher habe ich beschlossen, mich mit meinem Podcast auf die Reise zu machen zu Menschen die mit Parkinson ein glückliches und erfülltes Leben führen. Diesen Erfahrungsschatz will ich gerne mit allen teilen. Ich freue mich wenn du mich auf dieser Reise begleitest oder sogar den Podcast mit deiner Geschichte bereicherst.

Mir selbst helfen im Umgang mit der Erkrankung vor allem Lachen, Zeit mit Familie und Freunden verbringen, viel Sport und Bewegung, Musik aber auch der Austausch mit Gleichgesinnten.

“Am Ende wird alles gut. 
Und wenn es noch nicht gut ist, 
dann ist es auch noch nicht das Ende!” 

Oscar Wilde

ARD Fernsehbeitrag vom 28.8.2021

Ich durfte mit Eckart von Hirschhausen einen Fernsehbeitrag für seine Sendung “Hirschhausens Quiz des Menschen” drehen. Es ging  um meine Familie und mich, um meinen Podcast und meine PingPongParkinson Gruppe in Münster. Eine tolle Gelegenheit das Thema Parkinson, insbesondere auch für uns jung Erkrankte, weiter in die Öffentlichkeit zu tragen.

Link zum Beitrag über mich

Link zum Beitrag über Parkinson

Kontakt

Ich freue mich über eine Nachricht von dir!